homemakercentral

Loving what I do and doing what I love

Morning and Evening Chores

Leave a comment

One thing every mother needs is a morning routine and and evening routine.  Without these routine there can be a lot of unnecessary frustration and wasted time.  We have routine but I have felt like I was doing most of the work.  I want responsible, happy, helpful, independent boys, so I opted to hand over more responsibility for personal grooming to my children.  This is how I am doing that.

The Chores

For the morning chores I have things like make your bed, brush teeth, get dressed, do hair, put on shoes and socks.  I wanted to make sure the kids had pictures and visual cues since they don’t all read yet.  I also put their names or initials on the back of their chores since part of the fun for my younger children is to play with the sticks.  They are still learning how it all works.  For the evening chores I have brush teeth, get pajamas on, put dirty clothes in the hamper, story time, take a bath.

The Chart

My dream was to get out the camera and take pictures of them each doing the chore or the chore done.  Then using those pictures to attach to the craft sticks.  It never happened and I needed the chore chart done now, so they are black and white images I found online.  The material I used was burlap and muslin.  I took the hot glue gun and glued it together.  I planned on sewing them up just like my larger cleaning chore chart, but found it was more important to have it done.  I wanted 4 pockets with picture cues also.  Then I planned to have the boys decorate their charts with anything they wished but the charts are done and already in use so I am not sure if that will happen.

Does it work?

Yes!  My kids have loved having responsibility.  It has strengthened their self esteem because they can help and do it.  In fact they have wanted to add more chores in their pockets.  We are not giving rewards for any of the personal grooming chores, but they still get done.  It has helped my mornings and evenings so much to have my big boys actually do more of what a big boy should.

I created a large chore chart for all housework that needs done.  It works well, but it doesn’t work for the personal grooming and night time routine.  I needed something in their rooms, more simple with less pockets and chores.  This is what I came up with to help.  It has worked great for me.  What do you find that works for you?

Author: Stacey JR

I like to ask questions and find answers. I enjoy gardening, cooking, motherhood and loving my husband. Recycling is awesome, being thrifty pays off, and creating brings me happiness and fulfillment.

Leave a Comment

