homemakercentral

Loving what I do and doing what I love

Men’s Haircuts

Leave a comment

I just spent a couple of hours giving haircuts this weekend and wanted to share.  I enjoy seeing my boys with nice clean haircuts.  I had a friend teach me some tips for getting a good haircut.  Although I will share some of those tips here, it is helpful to see it done.  I will do my best at describing what I do and some things I have learned.  Please let me know if you would like clarification or have any questions.

Rule #1

Make sure the hair is evenly cut.  I have found that although using clippers make the work go faster, it doesn’t necessarily insure the hair is evenly cut.  Even if your clippers can cut evenly not every head is shaped perfectly smooth or round, so the end result can be interesting.  Each of my 4 boys have different shaped heads and hair types.  Another factor in using clippers is the hair grows in different directions, so it is important to take care and cut in all of those directions.

Rule #2

Blending gives a haircut that professional look.  If the haircut style your giving has different lengths of hair (like longer on top and shorter on the sides and back) blending is what makes the difference between a good and a bad haircut.  I have found that although I can change the lengths on my clippers it doesn’t really do a good job of blending.  I just have 2 or 3 different lengths when I am done with a hair cut.  For wiggly little  boys it might be best to have a couple different lengths than trying to take time to blend.

Scissors

My favorite way to cut hair is with Scissors.  When cutting with Scissors it is important to wet the hair.  It makes the hair easier to cut evenly and also the uneven hairs can be seen easier.  I usually start at the forehead and work front to back cutting the hair until the top is all the length I want.  Then I move across the top trimming side to side.  Then one last time trimming front to back just the top & crown of head.  It can seem intimidating and does take more time to give a haircut with scissors.  It also takes more practice before you can give a good haircut, but can pay off if you are interested in learning, and have someone to practice on.

Clippers & T-Edgers

I use clippers for the back, sides and nape of neck to get shorter length than I can get with my fingers.  This past weekend blended using clippers and a comb.  I pulled the hair to the length and angle I wanted, then cut the hair that was longer than the comb by running the clippers up the comb.  I just went around the head blending the two different lengths.  One word of cation about trying this is to make sure you don’t to rest the comb on the head at the shorter length of hair.  You don’t want to ruin a good hair cut at the end by making a little bald spot because you rested the comb on the head  instead of holding the comb just where you wanted to cut.

T-Edgers are awesome to use for around the ears, and at the nape of the neck.  Cleaning up around the edges is another really important thing to getting the cut to look good.  When the hair is long around the ears it is time to give another haircut.

Helps

It is nice to have a towel or styling cape to keep hair off clothes.  A soft brush can be used to brush off those itchy hairs from the face or neck.  An apron can be useful for the hair stylist to hold a spray bottle, scissors, and a comb.  Understanding face shapes and what kind of hairstyles flatter those face shapes can be very helpful when giving a haircut and when trying new hairstyles.

To help little boys sit still you can give them a popsicle or lollypop.  My boys will sit still and watch me cut their hair in the mirror.  The only problem with the mirror is that once I am done with the top, they can’t see well, are done sitting still and lose interest.  My kids like the feel of the scissor cut, but have a hard time sitting still that long.  I do have one son that can’t stand to have the clippers on his head.  He would rather sit longer.  I try to use both clippers and scissors for all my boys.

I have found books at my local library on cutting hair.  They have been helpful and interesting.  Cutting hair can be fun and rewarding.  Like I said in the beginning, the best way to learn how to cut hair is to see someone giving a hair cut.  Then feeling brave enough to try it.  And practice, practice, practice.  It has taken time for me to feel good about the haircuts I give, but is so worth it in the end.

Author: Stacey JR

I like to ask questions and find answers. I enjoy gardening, cooking, motherhood and loving my husband. Recycling is awesome, being thrifty pays off, and creating brings me happiness and fulfillment.

Leave a Comment

