homemakercentral

Loving what I do and doing what I love

Why Use Aprons?

Leave a comment

Why Use Aprons?

An apron is just a way to cover your clothes from stains and messes.  I don’t think that ever goes out of style.  It helps your clothes last longer and look nice all day long.  It can be useful for many different reasons.  One thing I have found since becoming a mother of 3 little boys, is that they can be messy.  I want to be clean, have nice clothes, feel pretty and be presentable for my husband when he gets home.  An apron is a way for me to wipe little hands, noses or tears.  I can give hugs when my kids need them without as much worry that they might get me dirty.

Waring an apron has helped me feel good about having and wearing nice clothes.  It has been hard for me to get dressed up and even harder to stay looking nice all day, when the only people I interact with all day is my children and my husband for dinner.  Being a homemaker is not a glamorous job.  By the time my husband comes home I have done a lot of work that can make me feel dirty and tired.  The end of the day is not the best time for getting dressed up.  All I feel like doing is going to bed, and my day isn’t over yet.  I still have dishes to wash and kids to help get in bed.  This is why I like getting ready for my day in the morning and just wearing an apron so I can feel nice still at the end of my day.

Cooking

The Kitchen is the first place many people think of for a great way to use an apron.  It can be very nice to have a place to dry or wipe hands when cooking.  It helps keep clothing looking clean especially when baking bread.  Flour can make clothes look dirty instantly.  Grease is bad also and worse because it can stain clothes.  No wonder the apron is so popular to be used when cooking.

Home School

For home schooling I find it helpful to have pockets for scissor or glue, pens or pencils, even chalk or flannel board pieces.  You can design your apron to be exactly what you need.  What size pockets do you want?  What colors or fabrics will work best?  I like to plan out my school day, pack up my apron and start teaching.  It it difficult to start a lesson for preschool and kindergarteners then in the middle need to stop to get supplies that have been forgotten.  It is hard enough to get their attention in the first place.  Once you’ve lost it, it is hard to find again.

Gardening

Any gardener will tell you that you get your hands dirty when your in the garden.  Well what about your clothes?  Yes, even your clothes can take a beating depending on what kind of work you are doing.  An apron can be very nice for holding your tools or gloves, and protecting your clothing.  It is hard enough to do laundry that has been dirtied with normal everyday use.  Make laundry easier by using a gardening apron if you garden.

Cleaning

Aprons can be very nice when it is time to clean up any room of your house.  If you find items that go in a different room, you can stick it in a pocket and put it away after you have finished that room.  I even have a separate apron for really dirty work like the bathrooms.  Some of your cleaning supplies can even be stored on you to make cleaning go faster.  If you are prepared cleaning goes by much faster.  Aprons help me to get in, get done and get out faster.

Fashion

There are so many different types of aprons, you can find one that fits your personal style.  An apron can be long or short, a solid color or a print, it can have pockets or ruffles, your apron can be part of your wardrobe or made for function and durability.  Basically it all depends on what you want and how you plan on using it.  Waring an apron is part of the job for me.  I can not justify waring nice clothes without an apron.  The way I dress is a reflection of how I feel.  I want to feel good.  I want to look good.  That is what aprons do for me.  That is what I hope aprons can do for you.  So do you think?  Will you use aprons more?

Author: Stacey JR

I like to ask questions and find answers. I enjoy gardening, cooking, motherhood and loving my husband. Recycling is awesome, being thrifty pays off, and creating brings me happiness and fulfillment.

Leave a Comment

